This Old Garrison

Looking forward to our new "Home" in Azeroth. Regular updates on Saturday.

Same Old Same Old.

nochange

 

I haven’t touched my garrison for probably close to a week.  I have not collected any of the work orders that were being worked on.  I have not selected my new follower for the week.  I have not sent the followers I already have off on any missions.

I’m not sure if this is just boredom or burn out.  I’ve expressed feelings of boredom before in relation to garrisons, but in that case it was due to a bug.  I was really looking forward to doing the garrison invasions from all the various enemy factions of the expansion, but there was something in the game’s code preventing them from being triggered.  This time it’s not something like that.  I have stuff I could be doing.  I could be finding artifacts for Harrison Jones.  Or I could be killing off some elite mob of some sort.  At the very least, I should be fishing like crazy for the lunkers I still need for the items I want from Mr. Pagle.  But none of that feels like it makes much of a difference.

I’ve enjoyed the story of World of Warcraft, but I’ve never been a major player in that story.  The story is usually told in the game’s raids.  Players are presented with the next group of evil things that will kill us all and destroy the world and are asked to stop them.  But I don’t raid.  And I haven’t necessarily needed to.  Since the game’s early days, there has frequently been things that are tied into what’s going on for the general populace to do.  From the efforts to open Ahn’Qiraj, to the Firelands, to the Dominance Offensive.  They may have not always gotten it right, but it looked like they were getting better about such things.

What does any of this have to do with garrisons?  I feel like they had the right idea of how to use the garrison to continue to offer story elements to the players in the beginning of the expansion.  Every week we would get a new mission to send us off to a new region of Draenor to encounter and disrupt the activities of a new group of villains.  It wasn’t something that happened every day.  It felt more like a new situation had come up that needed our personal attention.  It was something to look forward to a bit, and not some extra randomly assigned daily chore to do.  I felt a little involved before.  And now it seems more like someone just remembered I’m still around and has given me some busy work to do.

Or maybe I’m just feeling some burn out.  Seeing as I’m not going to be near a computer next week (and the fact that every time I’ve tried to do an automatic update via WordPress it’s failed miserably) I won’t be updating next week.  Hopefully when I get back, I’ll have regained some interest in what I’m doing.

One comment on “Same Old Same Old.

  1. wowstorylines
    March 28, 2015

    Taking a break is never a bad thing and it oftentimes makes the game more enjoyable when you get back to it. Enjoy your time away and I am sure that we will all look forward to your next posting.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 28, 2015 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , .

Navigation

