This Old Garrison

Looking forward to our new "Home" in Azeroth. Regular updates on Saturday.

A follower that will be Legen- wait for it-

WoWScrnShot_121914_144348

This week, Bashiok posted on the official forums about some of the content that Blizzard is working on for next year.  It sounds like there is going to be a few new things for garrison players to look forward to soon, like new missions and new things to do with your friends and guild mates.  To me, the most interesting thing coming will the opportunity to recruit a Legendary follower.  If I’m reading this right, the next part of the quest chain players can complete to earn a Legendary ring will also give us the “first-ever Legendary Follower (with suitably Legendary abilities)”.

Now I’ve never earned a Legendary anything before in WoW.  Even last expansion, when it was probably the easiest to do so, I never managed to get around to it.  I’m not a raider, so going for such an upgrade to my gear isn’t all that important to me.  But for a follower, I may have to look into picking up the quest items required for the stage I’m currently on.  It would probably depend on just how “Legendary” this follower ends up being.

For me, there are two big things that could get me to put the effort in.

1) The Mechanics.  I don’t know about the rest of you, but my garrison is rather full at the moment.  It’s actually over capacity really, with an ever increasing number of followers that are being brought on board just to be told to take a vacation.  My active company is comprised mostly of epic followers that are at an item level of six hundred and fifteen or higher.  It’s going to have to really wow me kid to get a spot on this team.  More abilities and traits than a epic follower currently ends up with.  Traits that really improve the missions I will be sending it on, like Epic Mount or Scavenger (or both).  Or maybe some incredible abilities and traits that only available from this follower.  Maybe something like Flight Form that decreases mission time even more than Epic Mount.  Perhaps a trait that will give me a chance to pick up extra legendary quest items from any successful missions I send it on.  At very minimum, if Blizzard can come up with a way for me to have this follower without it counting towards my maximum active follower count, I’ll take the “freebie”.

2) The Flavor.  Go big, or go home.  Now, don’t get me wrong.  Having followers that are references to the game’s first cinematic is cool.  I love that a number of people from the WoW community have been immortalized as followers you can try to recruit from the Inn (although I wish they weren’t faction specific in many cases).   And at the current top of the “I know this character” scale you have folks like Nat Pagle, Millhouse Manastorm, and of course… Mr. Jenkins.  That’s the bar Blizzard needs to clear here.  I’m not expecting any faction leaders or anything like that.  But there are a few NPCs around that I think would be above the current crop in familiarity without breaking immersion as far as “wait, this person wants to follow me?”.  Maybe that well known gnome that’s bigger on the inside that’s already helped me out so much in the past?  Maybe, seeing as we can already recruit a few ghostly followers already, one of those friends we lost along the way to the level cap?  Maybe someone that already helped us once before in getting a Legendary item?  I want that moment of “that’s who the follower is?  Awesome.”

I guess we’ll just have to wait and see just how Legendary this follower ends up being.

And as a house keeping note, with the holidays quickly approaching, I will be taking a break.  This will be the last post of 2014 with any actual content.  There may or may not be a new post next week to remind you of this fact.  So, whatever you celebrate, I hope it is a good one for you.  And if you don’t actually celebrate anything, I hope you at least have some time to enjoy doing something you think is fun.

See you next year.

One comment on “A follower that will be Legen- wait for it-

  1. wowstorylines
    December 20, 2014

    Happy Holidays and enjoy the break – definitely will be looking forward to seeing more of your posts next year.

Leave a Reply

