This Old Garrison

Looking forward to our new "Home" in Azeroth. Regular updates on Saturday.

Community Blog Topic: What is your favorite announcement for Warlords of Draenor?

WoW Insider has asked:
“What is your favorite announcement for Warlords of Draenor and why?”

Personally, I think that the ability to boost a character to level 90 is absolutely awesome.

<.<

>.>

*looks at the title of the blog*

What?

IMG_1942

Okay, so you caught me.  The announcement for Warlords that I found myself geeking out over the most was Garrisons.

As for why, that’s a bit harder to say.  I don’t think there’s one big thing that leaps out at me and shouts “this is why Garrisons will be awesome!”.  I think it’s a lot of little things :

  • Access to more professions.  My main character for the longest time was a Warrior with Blacksmithing and Mining.  And as someone that’s become more and more involved in pet collecting, I felt like kicking myself with every patch that came in Mists where I saw a new pet available to Engineers, Jewelcrafters, and Scribes.  I’m not asking my Garrison buildings to make me epic gear.  I just hope they can make me some of the toys the other guys get.
  • Offline progression.  I was fortunate enough to be able to go to Blizzcon this year.  To do so, I was more or less away from my computer for four days.  Four days of no in-game progress.  No mats farmed, daily quests completed, or rep ground.  With a Garrison, that’s no longer the case.  If I know I’m going to be away for any length of time, I just have to make sure my followers are busy until I get back.  I may get better rewards if I was able to log in, but it’s still better than nothing.
  • Follower game play.  There are other games I’ve played where I’ve gotten burned out on core game play.  For a few of those games, what keeps me coming back is the follower game play.  It may not be as exciting as running a dungeon with your main character, but it’s kind of interesting to see if the people you’ve assigned a task have the ability to complete it.  Also, depending on how the system works, it can be hilarious when the group screws up (on a Sims “How did you set fire to the house trying to make a salad?” level).
  • Something for everyone.  One of the buildings talked about for garrisons was the Pet Stable.  It was described as a place where a player could put some of their favorite pets on display, as well as a place where players could find a new trainer to battle and “breed” pets for a chance to improve their rarity.  Maybe I’m reading too much into this, but if they can do that for pet people, what else can they do?  Perhaps a Brawler’s pit so we don’t have to go all the way back to our capital city to run the Brawler’s guild?   Maybe we can put together a team of followers to hit Warsong Gulch to increase our rep.  I don’t know.  There’s just something about it that makes me feel like we can make our garrisons be what we want them to be.
  • You can take it with you.  You can set up your garrison where you want to (with some limits).  For some, that choice will be based on aesthetics.  They like the look of one zone, so they’ll set up camp and stay there.  For others,  they may move based on the latest content patch.  The garrison building area may be closer to the new daily hub than their faction’s presence in the zone.  Still others may set it up as a retreat point world pvp.  If things get hairy in a zone that’s over run with players from the other faction (for whatever reason), it may be nice to have a place you can enter that could phase you out from people trying to hunt you down.  But more than all of this, it’s also a place we can set up in the next expansion after Warlords.  When Mists comes to a close, we’re all going to be leaving the farm behind.  But our garrisons have the potential to still be a part of our game play we hit level 105, 110, 125, 200, and beyond.

So yeah, I’m really looking forward to garrisons.  If Blizzard does as good a job on it as I’m hoping they will, I think it will be the feature that will take a lot of players by surprise over how much they like it.

One comment on “Community Blog Topic: What is your favorite announcement for Warlords of Draenor?

  1. Pingback: Community Blog Topic Results: Favorite announcement for Worlds of Draenor – Joystiq – blog – Google News | News Magazine Blog

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

